NCFA League 2 to play for Ness Cup trophy

Posted on Thursday, June 25th, 2020

The historic Ness Football Cup shall be awarded to the winner of the coming season's North Caledonian FA 'League 2' division.

Last won by Orkney in 2015-16, the Ness Cup was first introduced as a Highland Football League trophy in 1939, contested as part of the North of Scotland emergency war-time schedule. It later became part of the North of Scotland 2nd XI FA calendar in 1955 -- making it the only North trophy to share a lineage between the Highland Football League and the North 2nd XI/North Caledonian FA.

Seven teams will compete for the league trophy in 2020-21, namely Alness United, Bonar Bridge, Bunillidh Thistle, Inverness Athletic, Loch Ness, Nairn County 'A' and Scourie.

Of this season's competing teams, Alness United (in 1977-78) and Bunillidh Thistle (in 1973-74) are two of the member clubs with a Ness Cup win in their honours list.

Newcomers Nairn County 'A' are also among the past winners, having captured the trophy as far back as 1957-58, during the Station Park side's short tenure as members of the 2nd XI association during the 1950s.

As confirmed at the North Caledonian FA AGM, the two-tier set up will be in place for one season only and shall return to a single division for 2021-22.